Changes for Postmarked

Postmarked Logo 2Big changes are coming up for Postmarked. Yes, this is going to mean some changes for my loyal readers. But don’t worry, I value you guys too much to just stop telling you the story. Anyone who still wants to keep up with the story should read this post because Postmarked is about to go on lockdown. And this will be returning to a personal blog.

Because it’s time to move to phase two: Building an Audience. So far, I have been way more focused on the writing side of Postmarked. And I have to admit, I’ve majorly slacked on the advertising side. It may have something to do with my own confidence issues, but with each new chapter I write, I start to believe in my story more and more. And many of my loyal readers have definitely contributed to that, so I want to thank each and every one of you. But, Postmarked can never become more if I don’t actively try to make it become more.

So, here are the details. I have made a second blog that will be starting Postmarked over from the beginning, but in an interesting way. You can find it here: http://postmarkedmegranger.wordpress.com/. I have also made a Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/PostmarkedByMEGranger (Feel free to like it if you want….please! Possibly even share it?). Basically, I’ve devised a marketing scheme that I am hoping will work. It turns Postmarked into more of a web-base interactive platform. Through this method, I hope to get more people interested in the story. You can find my full explanation for it on the navigation on my other blog: http://postmarkedmegranger.wordpress.com/2014/03/28/postmarked-navigation/.

The problem I have found with trying to advertise Postmarked as it is now is that I’m already around seventy pages into the story, and that’s no where for someone to start a story. Not to mention, some things have been revealed now (like which package Eleanor actually sent). So, I truly believe that I need a fresh start with Postmarked. And in order to do that, I need to remove access from my new target base of the story. This is the only way I think I can successfully launch it how I want to.

So, what does that mean for you? Well, it means for now that this page is about to go full ghost mode. I’ve considered a number of methods to still try to get this story to my loyal readers and this is what I have settled on at the moment. I am hoping that it will not be too much of an inconvenience. Basically, I have found that WordPress offers a password-protected option for posts. I would try just using the private mode they have, but unfortunately that is only for people who have a WordPress account and I know some of readers, if not most, do not have a WordPress account. So, I’ve settled on the password-protected option. This means that in the coming days, I will be launching this method. This Monday’s story will not be password-protected initially, but some of the older stories are going to start turning ghost mode until they all will be in the next week, including this Mondays, next Mondays, and all to follow. Once they go ghost, the only way they’ll be able to be read is by entering a password.

So, the only problem I see here is getting the password to my readers. I don’t want to post it here because that defeats the purpose of going ghost if new readers could still get access to it. So what I have settled on is that I will have the same password for every post. So if you would like this password, I have to ask for you to contact me somehow and I will get the password to you. Here are some of the ways that you can contact me:

  1. Leave a comment here with your email address and I will send you the password
  2. Email me at meganelisegranger@gmail.com and I will reply with the password
  3. Contact me on my personal facebook account and I will give you the password
  4. If you can think of another way to contact me, you’re free to use that as well

I really hope that this won’t be a problem. Once you have the password, it won’t change though and it will be the same for every new post. So, you’ll only have to do this once hopefully. I want my loyal readers to know how much I appreciate them, so please let me know if you have any problems with the route I’ve decided to take. I’m really only doing this because I believe in Postmarked and I know my readers do too. So thank you.

Let’s see how far Postmarked can really go! I hope to see this as a novel one day. And if it does become a novel, I only have you readers to thank. Because I would not still be writing this if I didn’t have the Monday deadlines.

I’m going to include a link to the Navigation post I’ve featured on my blog because that will go ghost as well very soon. Through that, you should be able to have access to all the other posts. This post and some of the weekly blogs that don’t give too many details away about Postmarked will be the only ones on this blog that will still be visible.

Here’s the link for the Navigation: https://megranger.wordpress.com/2014/03/21/navigating-postmarked/

 

Thank you so much,

Megan Elise Granger

P.S. If anything was unclear about this very long-winded post, please feel free to contact me.

Leave a Reply

